On April 1, 1999, Canada’s geographical and political map changed and a new jurisdiction, Nunavut, was created. Nunavut was formed from the eastern part of the Northwest Territories and was officially named Canada’s third territory.

"When Inuit are determined to get something, they go out and get it."
- Bob Kadlun, a chief negotiator for Inuit on the land claim